Only One Incumbent to Be Challenged in Spring Elections

Wednesday, January 3, 2018 | by Joe Morey |

The 2018 spring elections in Sawyer County will see only one challenged county board seat and one vacant seat, while the remaining incumbents won’t face any opposition. The same goes for three seats on the Hayward Community School District School Board and four seats on the Hayward City Council.

The deadline for filing for candidacy was yesterday, January 2, at 5:00 p.m. Fourteen of the 15 county board supervisors filed for re-election with Iras Humpreys, district 4, filing non-candidacy papers, which means her seat may be filled by a registered write-in candidate. District 4 represents the Town of Hayward, wards 3 and 4.

Only one incumbent county board supervisor faces opposition in the spring elections. Frank W. Lueschen filed his candidacy papers to challenge incumbent William Voight in District 12, which represents the Town of Spider Lake, Town of Round Lake, ward 2, and Town of Winter, ward 1.

All other 13 supervisors will run unopposed and they include; Dale Schleeter, District #1, Kathy McCoy #2, Tweed Shuman #3, James Schlender #5, Thomas Duffy #7, Bruce Paulsen #8, Brian Bisonette #9, Elaine Nyberg #10, James Bassett #11, Ron Kinsley #13, Ronald Buckholtz #14, Helen Dennis #15.

In the city of Hayward, four alderpersons are up for re-election and they will all run unopposed. They include Joseph Kreyer, District 1, wards 1 and 5, Lonnie Kennell, District 2, ward 2, Michael Swan, District 3, ward 3 and Jim Miller, District 4, wards 4 and 6.

Three Hayward school board members will run for re-election unopposed in the spring elections and they include board president, Linda Plante, and members Derek Hand and Stacey Hessel.

Spring elections will be held on April 3, 2018.

Share This Article